Tags

, ,

Image

I’ve never really liked tea all that much. For me, it has always fallen into the category of foods and drinks that aren’t worth the effort it takes to prepare them (oranges are another one. I burn more calories peeling an orange than I get from it!). Plus, it has always made me feel like an old lady to have a cup of tea instead of, say, a glass of vino.

However, I cannot seem to break this nighttime snacking habit I have fallen back into over the past few months, and it is sabotaging my efforts to lose those few pounds that have crept on since last summer. I could just throw in the towel and decide it is too hard to be “good”, but the reality is that there is no compelling reason to sit down after a complete dinner and put away six graham crackers. Well, except that they are yummy, and it feels like a reward after a long day of work, carting the kiddos around, feeding them, bathtime, etc etc. And that’s what it’s really about. Once the kids go to bed, I can finally sit down and relax, and it is a habit to have a treat. Unfortunately, that turns into two, or three, or six treats.

So, back to the tea. I’ve decided to commit to having a cup of tea each night after the kids go to bed for the next week. I’m hoping that over the course of the week, it will start to feel like the same kind of treat as those graham crackers. I also hope that by NOT taking the approach of denying myself a treat, it might become a lasting change.

I know you’re on the edge of your seat… stay tuned! What do you do to curb those evening cravings??

