Tags

, , , ,

My boys contemplate the distant horizon.

My boys contemplate the distant horizon. Can’t wait to get back to the Cape.

Being mid-January, it is time for me to think about what I want to accomplish in the coming year.

1. Get the scale back where it should be. I know the weight I feel best at, and it’s about six pounds less than where I am now, and almost 8 pounds less than where I was two weeks ago. So, I am moving in the right direction. Part of that is a renewed commitment to tracking what I am eating on LoseIt, and the fact that they have a 5lb weight loss challenge going on. I do loves me a challenge!

2. And keep it there. After losing 20+ lbs last year, I reached a point of equilibrium, where losing any more would have required I live like a saint, but it didn’t seem too hard to maintain. Then old habits start slipping in (hello, Wheat Thins), and slowly but ever so surely, the scale started to creep back up. Still, I started this year about 15 lbs lighter than last year, so I am not too concerned. But when I get back to my preferred weight, I really do need to find a way to keep my head in the game so I don’t have to go through this yo-yo every year.

3. Adventures with the family. Our kids are getting older (this spring, they’ll turn 9 and 5). I think we are entering that sweet-spot of parenting when our kids will be up for some real adventures. I haven’t given this enough thought yet, but an overnight canoeing river trip could be a good start. We are also planning a trip to NYC to visit our second-home-owning neighbors in their real stomping grounds. I have lived in the East all my life, and have spent exactly two days in New York. TWO DAYS! One day when I was 11 and we went to see Evita on Broadway, and again when I was 33, and we went to see… I can’t remember. Something with Brooke Shields. She was pretty good. But anyway, I think it is time for us to go do some good old-fashioned skyscraper gawking.

4. Some fun competitions. First up (so long as the weather cooperates) is the Stowe Derby in February. We’ll be organizing the 2nd Annual Mud City Loop Road Race at some point in the summer. I have not decided whether I will do the Swimming Hole Triathlon again… I don’t have a gym membership this year, so I am limited in the swimming and cycling I can do (like, limited to none). My heart just isn’t into that one this year; perhaps a 1/2 marathon instead?

So that about does it. Nothing too lofty. Last year was a year filled with more ambitious goals, many of which came to fruition. But now I am a little more circumspect about piling on too much (still recovering from the holidays!). Which brings me to my last goal:

5. Live spontaneously. This year, for the most part, I’d like to be open to opportunities, and feel free enough to jump at them when they come up.

How about you? What goals are you thinking of for 2014? Inspire me!

