Tags

, ,

For a period of time this summer, it was smooth sailing on the health and weight front. I had achieved my weight loss goal and was seeming to maintain within a couple of pounds. But, as always happens at some point in the year, life conspires to distract me, my incredible talent for denial kicks in, and next thing you know, I hop on the scale to find I have gain 7 or 8 pounds! Ugh.

I am still at a healthy weight; in fact, what I weigh now is about what my initial goal was when I started losing last January. But it is the trend that raises the hairs on the back of my neck. I’ve been here before and I know what a slippery slope this distraction/denial thing can be. 7 or 8 pounds I can deal with just by getting back to the good, solid habits I had last spring. If I were to find myself “suddenly” needing to lose 20 lbs I would be really unhappy with myself. So…

  • As of yesterday, I am back to tracking EVERYTHING I put in my mouth.
  • I have adjusted my LoseIt app goal to lose 1 lb per week.
  • I am trying get back to my habit of not drinking any beer or wine on several nights of the week. The calories just add up too quickly, and it seems my “no snacking at night” resolve is wine-soluble.
  • I’ll keep myself accountable here on my blog. I have let it slip in the past few months, but it is an important tool for me to keep my honest with myself.

Ok! Onward and upward.

Happy fall!

