Tags

, , , ,

When I run into acquaintances around town lately, and they ask how I am doing, I almost have a hard time answering honestly. The stars have aligned so well in my life in these past few months, it almost feels like bragging. My kids are little rock stars:

image

Lovely H had her work posted at the recent parents’ open house at school. She’s also a key player on her soccer team, even though she’s one of the youngest.

Little Guy loves to hike, and he is loving his new pre-school.

Little Guy loves to hike, and he is loving his new pre-school.

Daddo and I had the incredible opportunity to go to Switzerland for a week of hiking this month. It was a work trip for me — researching the new Haute Route Hiking itinerary the company I work for will be offering in 2014. To have the chance to get away with him, knowing our kids were safe at home with Nana, was priceless.

At the top of the Col du Reidmatten, looking toward Zermatt.

At the top of the Col du Reidmatten, looking toward Zermatt.

So, all in all, life is better than good.

On the diet and exercise front, we have been doing a lot of socializing, so that means the beer and wine calories (and the accompanying loose snacking habits) have been adding up. I am up maybe three pounds from my lowest point last summer, but still down 20 from a year ago, and I do intend to rein that back in. I have been keeping fit, and the hiking at altitude in the Alps means that I came home running a bit faster than before, with relative ease. I have also been playing on my mountain bike lately; something I haven’t really done in years. A lot of nice work has been done on the trails around Stowe during that time, and it’s almost like a different sport now.

The next few weeks will be busy with family visiting; my aunt this week, and my brother the week after. Then life should settle into a more reasonably mundane pattern until the holidays.

I hope you are all enjoying fall! Colors are near peak here in Vermont, and we are having a beautiful stretch of weather. A lot of happy little tourists poking around town this week. 🙂

