Tags

, , , ,

Diet:

Days at or near my calorie goal: 3/7.
Calories over/(under) my weekly budget: Now that I am posting weekly tallys on Thursday it is harder to figure out because my LoseIt app starts a new week on Mondays… so I’d actually have to do some basic addition and my math mind shuts down around 5 p.m. And really, while I plan to continue diligently tracking because it WORKS for me, this little piece of data probably doesn’t matter all that much.

What does matter is coming to terms with my insidious nighttime snacking habit. I made a commitment a week ago to take a week for Roni Noone’s challenge to abstain completely from nighttime snacking. I put an alarm on my phone for 7:30 each night to remind me. And you know what? It mostly worked, AND I learned a few things:

1. Nighttime snacking is nothing more than a silly habit.

Mostly, I just needed a reminder on a nightly basis before I went on auto-pilot and started munching. After a certain tipping point in the evening — for me it seems to be about 8:30 p.m. — if I haven’t started nibbling I really am not that tempted (I have noticed the same thing about the nightly glass (or two) of wine, by the way).

2. Mindful eating is always okay.

Like tonight; I had dinner immediately when I got home from work because I was super hungry. I wanted to work out, so I ate a relatively light dinner, hung out with the kids a bit, and then did my first Spartan Beast WOD. I was planning to have a light snack after — milk and a hard-boiled egg, but EWW, the eggs had turned! Yuck. So I had my glass of milk with a couple drops of vanilla in it, but I still felt a little hungry, and it was nowhere near bedtime. So I had two graham crackers with some peanut butter spread on top. I had a moment of feeling guilty like I was breaking my no night snacking pact with myself, but you know what? It was delicious, it fit in my calorie budget for the day, and even though it could be classified as nighttime snacking, it was mindful. So I am okay with that.

Exercise:

About 3.8 hours…

  • 50 min walking
  • 125 min running
  • 55 min Bob Harper Ultimate Cardio Body DVD

Wow, that’s the lightest week I have had in months… and yet I am still a bit sore from the race I did on Sunday. I need to get organized and come up with a plan of attack for  Spartan Beast training. I am going away with some girlfriends on Sunday for a few days, so I plan to just get through this week with some old standby workouts (Super Strength tomorrow morning, perhaps?), and then when I return next week, I’ll need to start getting serious about a varied strength training regimen again.

Weight:

Change since last week: none
Amount lost so far: 22.6 lbs

I had hoped that the elimination of nighttime snacking would send the scale down a bit, but the light amount of exercise is probably the reason I don’t show any “progress” on the scale. I’m not worried; I feel all of the trepidation I had about maintaining my weight loss is starting to fade, and I am getting into the groove.

Hope you are all groovy too!

