Tags

, , , ,

Diet. Exercise. Weight changes. And my thoughts on each.

Diet:

Days at or near my calorie goal: 1. Really??
Calories over/(under) my weekly budget: I can’t even say because I didn’t track on two days (which is a sure sign of being waaay over). But “significantly over” is the bottom line.

I’ve been slipping into my insidious nighttime snacking habit. The Tour de France is happening this month. It has become sort of a July tradition in our house, and crazy doping scandals aside, I love watching it. Each stage comes with about 4 hours of coverage, and even if we fast-forward through big chunks, it means 2-3 hours of TV most nights. I stay up too late, and that means munch, munch, munch. Munch. Munch.

So, for the next week I am taking up Roni Noone’s challenge to abstain completely from nighttime snacking. I am putting an alarm on my phone for 7:30 each night to remind me – HEY! You promised not to mindlessly eat at night for one week. Just one week! Do it!

Exercise:

About 6.3 hours…

  • 70 min biking
  • 175 min running
  • 65 min Bob Harper Super Strength DVD
  • 50 min Bryan Kest Power Yoga
  • 20 min Homemade Cross-Fit WOD (4 rounds for time: 500 m rowing, 15 overhead press, 15 knees to elbows).

Running, running, and more running. The Stowe 8-miler is this Sunday and all the hard work is done. I am going for a walk this morning, 1-2 miles tomorrow, Saturday off, and race on Sunday. I am excited – I have never prepared this thoroughly for a running race. I have my goal in mind, although I am a little concerned that heat and humidity will slow everyone down, including me… que sera, sera.

That said, my mind and my body are ready for a change from all this running, and that change is going to be Cross-fit. Yes, I am planning to jump on the bandwagon come next week. It will help me prep for the Spartan Beast in September, it will take the pressure off my lower legs (I am this close to a running injury, I can just tell). We don’t have a Cross-fit “box” nearby but I plan on doing at-home WODS, and may try to get to the gym at Daddo’s work, because they offer classes every so often. Stay tuned for more as I explore the latest fitness fad.

Weight:

Change since two weeks ago: -1 lb*
Amount lost so far: 22.6 lbs

*weight change since last week, +2.2 lbs. I got on the scale last week and it showed a 3.2 lb loss. Honestly, I don’t know what goes through my head when I smugly pat myself on the back for a job well done, then a week later it is clearly revealed to be just a fluke! Of course it was just a fluke… no person at a healthy weight can (or should) lose 3 real pounds in just one week. I must have eaten something with diuretic properties, or lost some weight from sweat that hadn’t yet been replenished.

