Tags

, , , , , ,

Those of you who come to StriveBalance regularly may have noticed I have a list of goals for the year. In just 10 days I will be doing the Swimming Hole triathlon and I am super psyched. I have done my homework and everything should go really well.

Having this goal has helped me focus my training. I have improved my running by about two minutes per mile, gotten much stronger on my bike, and spent time in the pool for the first time in years.

Having this list of goals helps me define what success will mean to me this year, and gives me some concrete milestones to focus on when life gets distracting.

Which brings me to my loosely defined “Fall: do some sort of obstacle race” goal. Yesterday, that became: “September 21: Spartan Beast Ultra

Spartan Beast

Holy scheisse! 13 miles, 6,000′+ elevation gain and loss, 35 obstacles. That ought to keep me motivated through the summer.

For now, I am still focusing on the triathlon in a week and a half. I also have some road races on deck for this summer. But you can bet I’ll be spending a LOT of time preparing myself for this monster. I mean BEAST!

