Tags

, , , ,

So, this week is the official start of my triathlon training! I have 8 1/2 weeks until the race, and on the one hand, I know I could do it tomorrow. So, now I have an opportunity to train not just to complete the race, but to do well. Typically when I sign up for a race I train to survive. This time I will be training to excel.

Let me rephrase that… I will be training to excel for me. I know better than to think I will do all that well against seasoned triathletes to eat, sleep, and breathe this stuff. But I think with the right kind of training I can put in a performance I can be proud of.

I’m not an amazing swimmer, and like most triathletes that will be my weakest discipline. But I’ll get through it. Thank goodness it’s a pool swim; I have awful memories of a mass-start lake swim in my 20s. Lake water is dark and disorienting, and getting kicked in the face is no fun!

So, that leaves biking and running. I just bought new bike shoes. I have been wearing ones that are about two sizes too small for the past several years. Don’t ask me why… is it possible my feel are still growing at 40+ years old?? Anyway, I am pretty psyched to have some comfy shoes so I can focus on riding well!

image

As for running, for now I am mostly still on the treadmill until the weather gets a little more inspiring. Although Max is happy to join me on the roads any day…

Good ol' Maxie, always happy to go for a run!

Good ol’ Maxie, always happy to go for a run!

Here is a snapshot of the schedule I will be following, and I think it is safe to say this is a program where the focus is quality over quantity:

traithlon training schedule

With a young family, I know better than to think I will be able to follow it to a T… but it will be a good framework to start from.

Here I go!

