Tags

, , ,

With my daily meditations, it has been hard to post as often as I’d like, so I thought I would do a brief recap of a busy week. In addition to tracking what I eat to keep myself honest, and getting to the gym and working out at home, we said goodbye to winter in true Vermont style this week, with a late season dump of snow on Tuesday…

Last day of winter 2013 in Stowe, Vermont

Last day of winter 2013 in Stowe, Vermont

The kids had no school, so I dragged them to the office where they made good use of our lobby…

image

On Wednesday morning – the first day of spring, mind you – we awoke with no power. Morning is still dark with the recent time change, so we used my favorite foul-weather gear, my Danforth Pewter mini hurricane lamp. We got it as a wedding gift almost 14 years ago. It was one of those gifts that we opened and thought “huh.” But it has turned out to be one of the most useful gifts we received!

Danforth pewter. Pretty and useful!

Danforth pewter. Pretty and useful!

Daddo and I managed to sneak up to the mountain for some great woods skiing before work. It seemed everyone else in Vermont had the same idea, and we ended up with quite a posse of friends, some of whom we haven’t skied with in years. (As I have said before, a good powder day = no pictures šŸ™‚ )

The kids “helped” shovel the deck in the evening…

image

As I mentioned above, I’ve been keeping up with the Deepak Chopra meditations, and have actually achieved a modicum of success in calming my “monkey mind” (thank you to Morning Tao for that perfectly descriptive term)…

meditation

So, it’s been a good week. Oh, and yesterday, after acknowledging that my favorite belt is just way too long for me now, I trimmed five inches off of it!!! There was a time, way back when, when I would have been hesitant to commit a favorite piece of clothing to this new, smaller size, but the thing is, I have no intention of ever needing that five inches again.

Goodbye, extra inches!

Goodbye, extra inches!

