Tags

, , ,

image

Good morning! Today is Day 3 of the 21-Day Deepak Chopra Perfect Health Meditation Challenge. As expected, it is CHALLENGING!

Why is it that I can monitor my food intake closely enough to steadily lose weight, or run 5 miles on a treadmill without thinking twice about it, but to sit in silence with a quiet mind for a mere 10 minutes is more or less impossible for me?!

That said, I am loving it. I had never heard Deepak Chopra’s voice before starting this challenge, and (I guess this is no surprise) he has the most charming Indian accent, a calming cadence, and his instructions are simple. Each day there is a “centering thought”, such as: “it is my nature to be in balance”, along with a Sanskrit mantra to repeat while meditating. My favorite so far was yesterday’s, which is meant to enliven the heart chakra. It is simply “yum”.

Whenever I found my mind wandering, I silently repeated “yum” over and over to bring it back. This happened about every 30 seconds, so clearly, meditation is something I will need to practice to get good at. Just like running or eating well.

I anyone else out there a Deepak fan? It’s not too late to join the challenge!

