Tags

, , , ,

When you have little kids at home, and most of your friends do too, it can be a challenge to find a time when you can get together, sans kids, and really ski. So, KT, JW, and I made plans earlier this week that we would meet first thing on Sunday to get in some runs. It was supposed to snow, so I was looking forward to getting to bed early, waking up early, and hoping for a bit of a powder day.

However, Little Guy seems to have picked up the stomach bug from his sister. Two weeks ago I spent all night on Saturday night up with her while she threw up. Last night it was his turn, poor kid.

Not to be deterred (Daddo is perfectly capable of taking care of a sicko), I got up early while Little Guy snoozed, and made myself a healthy version of “skier’s breakfast”.

Huevos Rancheros a la me.

Huevos Rancheros a la moi.

  • 1 white corn tortilla
  • 1/3 cup cannellini beans
  • 1 T shredded cheese
  • 1 egg over easy
  • 1/4 avocado
  • 1 T tomatillo salsa

Super easy and a nice change from my usual breakfasts. With coffee, 372 calories.

Then I headed to the mountain. We didn’t get much snow, and it was damp and darkish…

image

But Vermont is always pretty and being outdoors with my friends makes me happy.

image

Note to self: get some new goggles!

It may not have been a powder day, but we had some really nice runs.

image

And some time to catch up on the chair.

image

I was home by lunchtime and Daddo and H have gone off for their turn to ski. Little Guy had a nap, and is now chilling in front of the TV.

image

His tummy is still off and now mine is feeling a little suspect (I have accepted the likelihood that there is NO WAY I am getting out of this without getting sick), but at least I’ve made the best of the day!

