Tags

, ,

I am a creature of habit, especially when it comes to losing weight. I find that if I try to blend in a LOT of variety, it becomes to much work to keep track of (and be honest with myself about) what I am eating. But I do try to have a couple of interesting “go-to” healthy choices in mind for any given meal each day. For the next few weeks I’ll share my favorite go-to meals. To start, here are my Top 3 Go-To Breakfasts:

Easy Oatmeal. I eat this at least once or twice a week in the winter. Sometimes more if I haven’t managed to get to the market for veggies or if I am short on time in the morning — it’s super quick!

  • 1/2 cup of slow-cook oats
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • handful of frozen berries or a cut-up banana
  • three chopped almonds

All this nuked with water about 3 minutes, stirred, and generously sprinkled with cinnamon. 288 calories.

The Breakfast Salad. Yup, salad for breakfast. I have made this one of my favorites since reading Born to Run by Christopher McDougall last year. You can play with the ingredients but the idea is to start the day with some protein, some quality carbs, and lots of low-calorie, high-fiber raw veggies.

  • 1 hardboiled egg
  • 1/2 apple or a couple of strawberries
  • 1/3 cup chick peas or cannellini beans, rinsed
  • Broccoli, about 1 cup
  • Carrots, about 1/3 cup
  • Cucumber, about 1 cup
  • 1 Tablespoon chopped almonds or sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 Tablespoon sweet dressing (I like Newman’s Own Lite Honey Mustard)

Chop everything up nice and small and throw in a pretty bowl. Voila! 310 calories.

The Breakfast Salad.

The Breakfast Salad

And last, but not least…

Peanut Butter & Jelly French Toast. Here’s a perfect example of where portion control really pays off and will allow you to enjoy your favorite comfort foods, and still lose weight!

  • 1 slice 100% whole wheat bread (I shop for brands with no High Fructose Corn Syrup)
  • 1 egg, 1/2 tsp vanilla, a bit of cinnamon
  • 1 Tablespoon natural (i.e. no sugar) peanut butter
  • 1/2 Tablespoon fruit preserves (apricot is my favorite)

Whisk the egg, vanilla and cinnamon. Soak bread and cook in a skillet over medium high heat. Spread with peanut butter and jelly. Mmm. 290 calories.

I always have coffee with a LITTLE half-and-half (no more than a tablespoon), and extra 1% milk to get to the lightness I like. I only drink one mug, but I REALLY need that mug!! About 60 calories.

Stay tuned next week for my Go-To Lunches! What are your favorite healthy, satisfying breakfasts? 

