Tags

, ,

triathlon training

It is no secret that setting goals is a great way to motivate yourself toward fitness. As I have stepped up my commitment to lose these nagging extra lbs and get myself into better shape, I realized I have a tendency to run too much when I am really trying to get fit, since there is nothing like a run to make you feel like you are trying your hardest! But I’ve injured myself twice (plantar fasciitis, ugh) and I am determined not to let that happen again. So my first goal is something that will get me off my feet, at least some of the time — a triathlon!

I will do the Swimming Hole triathlon on May 19, which also happens to be about the time I plan to reach my weight loss goal! I have already looked up a training program from my favorite endurance guru, Hal Higdon.

I will also run the Stowe 8-miler on July 14th, and the first annual MCL “Vermont’s Toughest 10K” on August 3rd. This is just a fun run around our 6.2 mile, very hilly dirt road. BBQ at our house after!

What fitness goals have you set for 2013?

