Tags

, , ,

Zen Guanyin_00

I look nothing like this on most days… 

So when I started this blog, I promised to make this a place about not only fitness and healthy eating, but also about making life calmer, more balanced, and peaceful; basically, a little more Zen.

Have I mentioned my German heritage? If you are German or know anyone from a German family, you know exactly why being Zen can be such a challenge. If you don’t, let me enlighten you. Germans (at least the ones I know) value organization and order HIGHLY. So, when someone like me finds myself surrounded by chaos, my instincts fly to whatever I think might fix it, and FAST. If I can’t control or fix the situation, it is very unsettling.

Off the top of my head I can think of a couple of times each day when, if I took a moment to take a few deep breaths and let the chaos wash over me, everything might go a little smoother and I and my little family would be a little closer to that blissfully harmonious existence we’d all like to have:

1. The Lovely H moves s-l-o-w-l-y in the morning. She’s always been a sound sleeper and I love (and envy) that. But really girl, you’ve got school today!

2. These days, work is extremely fast paced. I love it and it is all good for business, but I notice I barely breathe for minutes (hours?) at a time. That can’t be good.

So, starting today and for the next week, I pledge to close my eyes and take three nice, slow, full breaths each time I notice the chaos train overtaking me. I’ll let you know how it goes!

How do you cope with stress in your life? Seriously, leave comments, I would love to hear your thoughts!!

